Linksys WRT1200AC wireless performance on latest stable

So I’ve been trying to find the perfect OpenWRT router recently, I’ve gone through quite a lot.

So I’ve got a Linksys WRT1200AC v1 now, got OpenWRT loaded just fine but notice WiFi performance on both bands isn’t great.

On stock the speeds would be around 400mb DL which is acceptable because the line is 500 and the ping will be 5-7ms.

On wrt I get 200-300ish which is okay but the ping increases to 20ms in tests, but the latency in games is very unstable from about 20ms in games on stock to about 60-120 (unstable).

Disabling WMM Mode took the ping down to 7ms but Wi-fi speed is drastically hindered only pushing about 20mb.

I’m not technically illiterate but I’m no expert and no settings I changed seemed to make much of a difference.

Any advice on what’s going on? With this router being built for third party firmwares (if I’m not mistaken) I thought performance would be very high.

1 Like

WMM is a required component of 802.11n and faster (HT/ VHT modes), disabling it limits your performance to 54 MBit/s.

Yup, but I was just noting that when it was turned off it resolved the ping issue.

I’ve got it turned back on now to solve wireless speed but still have a ping at least 4x higher than it should be

Marketing and reality are often different things. Linksys has tried to market these as the heir to the throne of the WRT54g in more ways that one. Regrettably, as I understand it, open-source support from the chip vendor has not been what some would consider sufficient.

I know that problem, what you have to do is send a "0" to two files in sysfs on startup to disable a broken feature of the WiFi drivers called "TX AMSDU".

#!/bin/sh /etc/rc.common

USE_PROCD=0

START=19
STOP=30

echo "0" >> /sys/kernel/debug/ieee80211/phy0/mwlwifi/tx_amsdu && echo "0" >> /sys/kernel/debug/ieee80211/phy1/mwlwifi/tx_amsdu && logger "AMSDU Disabled"