Builds for NETGEAR WNR1000V2, WNR1000V2-VC, WNR612v2, WPN824N, WNR2000v3, EX2700

The NETGEAR WNR1000V2/VC was one of the most widely-distributed "free" routers from Comcast and was given to hundreds of thousands of customers in the United States. I've also built images for the WNR612v2, WPN824N, WNR2000v3 which are very similar to the WNR1000V2 and for the Netgear EX2700 Range Extender. These are old 4/32 wireless N routers that are still capable of basic networking tasks and also work very well as an inexpensive dumb access point or wireless repeater/extender/bridge.

I've been running OpenWRT on a WNR1000v2-VC for the past three years (300Mbps WAN connection with 10 wireless clients) and it is very reliable and stable. Note: The LAN/WAN speed will not exceed 100Mbps.

You can buy a used WNR1000v2 on eBay for as little as $9.00 US. My motivation for this project is to reduce electronic waste by continuing to use viable products - with current, secure software.

Download Firmware
Opkg is not included in any build. Build manifests, config.seed and sha256sums files are in the download folder.

• Learn More and Download Builds for 21.02.3 - and 22.03.2 (courtesy of @chainu127)

• Download 19.07.10 for WNR1000v2, WNR1000v2-VC, WNR612v2, WNR2000v3, WPN824N, and EX2700. Includes LuCi, IPV6, Relayd, PPP.

• Download Older Builds of 19.07.4, 18.06.8, 17.01.7 for WNR1000v2, WNR1000v2-VC, WNR612v2, WNR2000v3, WPN824N. Includes LuCi, IPV6, Relayd. Some of these older 17.x and 18.x builds also include PPP, SQM - check the build manifest or config files in your model folder to confirm the configured options before flashing. This router can run SQM but the relatively slow CPU will reduce your speed on fast WAN connections and could cause instability.

Why Not Use the Official OpenWRT Firmware?