X86: WiFi speeds slow and can't create 2.4GHz and 5GHz at the same time

Hi!

I am a total newbie, struggling with slow download speeds over WiFi. My ISP gives me 250MBit/s download speeds, but I only get max. 90MBit/s on 2.4GHz (often as slow as 30MBit/s) and 105MBit/s on 5GHz. An ethernet cable gives me full 250MBit/s.

Additionally, my issue is that I can either create a WiFi network on 2.4GHz or 5GHz, but not both at the same time. See LuCI:

If I click on "Add", I can create another WiFi point and choose a different frequency, but then the first one gets changed to that same frequency too.

OpenWRT is running on Fujitsu Futro S920 (x86) with the Atheros AR9382 802.11ABG/N Mini PCIe WiFi module. I have installed ath9k and luci-app-sqm. I experience the same issues when sqm isn't running.

Here are some details:

/etc/config/wireless
/etc/config/network
/etc/config/sqm

Do you have any idea how to increase the WiFi speed AND enable 2.4GHz and 5GHz simultaneously?

Thanks a lot! Sorry for being a newbie boomer... :older_man:

you can't.
one card= 5ghz or 2.4ghz. multiple essid yes, but on one band and same channel

use 5ghz band and set 40 Mhz, that shoud give you max speed from that card.

I don't know much about networking yet. But don't commercial routers provide both frequencies (2.4GHz and 5GHz)? Why is OpenWRT on x86 different?

in your pc you have just one card, abgn, dual band. most router have two cards one for 2.4 and one for 5 ghz. this is a pc not a router, right?

Well that's a bummer. I didn't consider that when I was getting this Fujitsu with all its parts. Yes, it's a pc, not a router.

What can I do? Some of my older tech doesn't support 5GHz WiFi and to be honest, I don't even want to put up with 100Mbit/s when I am paying for 250Mbit/s from my ISP, so even 5GHz on Fujitsu would currently be a bad choice.

Would you recommend a commercial router as an access point?