What firmware to install on ALFA AP120C-AC?

I think the wiki page for AFLA AP120C-AP is very out of date, both firmware links are broken. The table of firmware downloads for the ALFA AP120C-AP lists a much newer firmware version.

This is honestly about as far as I've gotten. I tried flashing the unit with the openwrt-21.02.1...factory.bin (from the firmware downloads page) using the devices own "Upgrade devices firmware." button, but it rebooted back to factory defaults. :sweat_smile: Glad it's not bricked!

I requested Wiki access so I can update the wiki when I do figure out how to install OpenWrt.

Any advice is welcome. Last time I used OpenWrt was probably 20 years ago. I'm afraid my brain is a little less plastic, but I'm still learning!

• fEsTiDiOuS

What stock firmware version do you have on this device now?

The Table of Hardware shows the AP120-AC is currently supported on 21.02.1

I was able to download both factory and sysupgrade firmware files.

Ah-Ha! Yes, thank you @pepe2k. -- I found the "Step 2" of the "Locate and Download the OpenWrt Firmware" instructions. Followed the "View/Edit data" link to the Techdata page, where down near the bottom I found "Installation method(s): GUI OEM, see git-commit"

In the git-commit I found an Installation Instructions section that says the factory firmware must first be updated to at least 1.1. My router had version 1.0.3 on it.

I found Alfa's Firmware Downloads and flashed the firmware to FW_AP120C-AC_v1.2_20190521_AP120C_AC.img. It did not automatically refresh the page after updating. For reasons I don't know I had to disconnect my ethernet connection to the router and reconnect before I could once more access the web console. Also, just for fun the default login had changed from root : alfa to root : admin.

Phew! Ok, now I'm going to try flashing OpenWrt again. ... annnd... It didn't work. The device rebooted and still shows up with the Alfa logo and shows firmware v1.2 r2457