VDSL modem router

I'm new to owrt. I cant find a new modem to buy.
I dont know if its because it takes a while before a device gets supported or because I need a modem for europe, or another reason.
I'd need a modem router, VDSL, profile 35b, 300 mbps and voip. Any tip ?

Here is some modem im interested:
tplink: VR1210v VR2800v
dlink: DVA‑5592 DVA‑5593
zyxel: VMG8825-T50K VMG8623-T50A VMG8823-B
asus: DSL-AC88U

Take a look here https://openwrt.org/toh/views/toh_modem_supported

1 Like

afaik there is no good option to have a voip -> dect/pots/isdn with openwrt.
also devices with vdsl-modem tend to have weak performance w/o the propritary parts of the oem-firmware facilitating hardware-nat, so 300mbps will be borderline.

imo best solution is to have the modem-device run oem-firmware (dumb-modem) and delegate establishement of the pppoe-session and firewalling/routing/sqm/wifi to a second device running openwrt and have client devices establish their own voip-sessions.

4 Likes

There currently is no support for any modem chipset supporting super-vectoring/ profile 35b; the (as of yet unsupported) lantiq grx350/ grx500 SOC would be needed for that. I do not expect that situation to change soon.

1 Like

Thanks Sparks and slh !
So maybe if i buy a modem with lantiq soc, there is some hope for the future ?
@ fuller No because i want owrt for privacy rather than network features.

Generally:
Modemrouter with Broadcom chipsets are not supported because they have proparitäry drivers only.
Devices with Lantiq chipsets will support or it exist a teoretycally possibillity to support them because they have proparytäry Modemfirmware (that can be extract from RouterFW) and Opensource drivers.

Support for VDSL2 Annex Q profile 35b (Aka Supervectoring) Modems does not exist in Openwrt.
One Theoreticly candidate of Suppervectoring support in future are the Fritzbox 7530 with Lantiq VRX518 Modem but: