Invalid Firmware Upload on Asus RT-N66U B1

Hello,

This is my first attempt to install an OpenWRT firmware on a Asus RT-N66U B1 wireless router. I followed instructions on the Factory install: First-time installation on a device. I selected the file and proceeded with uploading but received a Invalid Firmware Upload message.

I was unable to find a troubleshoot guide on this particular issue. Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards,

Try downgrading to an earlier firmware version from the asus support page before installing Openwrt.

Otherwise you could probably bypass the web GUI checks by using Asus recovery tools to install openwrt.

2 Likes

Before forcing the flashing, please ask yourself if you really want to use this device with OpenWrt, even if that means effectively losing WLAN functionality.

The above also applies for the ASUS RT-N66U, with the obvious caveat of s/RT-AC68U/RT-N66U/g and s/BCM4360/BCM4331/g.

2 Likes

Oh, thanks @slh. I am glad I didn't try to flash my RT-N66U then!

@kiekar: If you want to flash then you could have a look at AsusWRT-Merlin, DD-WRT. You may need to do some research to see how secure they are, or if hey are based on a recent kenrel and free form known vulnerabilities.

There are also some Tomato variants of firmware, such as AdvancedTomato--which has good looking interface really but it was last updated in May 2017, so will be vulnerable. There is also FreshTomato, which is currency an active project and recently released a beta, but I don't see a download there for RT-N66U. You could probably check with them.

The original firmware is recent (Version 3.0.0.4.382.50702 2018/07/10) is there a reason you need to use custom?

1 Like

My asus router is behind a pfSense box. I would like to use some more customization such as vlans to seperate guest and iot from my secure wifi network

Then if vulnerability isn't a concern, then you could give AdvancedTomato a try.

Hello,