How to properly install OpenWrt on Asus RT-AC58U?

Hello, I am an absolute beginner so i beg your pardon.
I want to install OpenWRT on my Asus RT-AC58U.

I was reading the instructions as described here:
https://openwrt.org/toh/asus/rt-ac58u

I was looking under the "Easy Installation" section and i found that it gives a warning to backup calibration data, which i can understand as that i have to backup something from my router first. But when i open up the link to the article mentioned (AC58U no wireless option in network after installing 18.06.1) I have no idea about what is going on here, and what should i do to backup my router's data.

The at most thing which i could figure out was that i have to backup two partitions, named Factory 1 and Factory 2. But I have no idea on how to do so.

Please can someone explain to me what i need to do, to back those up and then later how do i restore them back if i face the same problem as discussed in the topic linked.

Thanks.

Be aware of https://forum.openwrt.org/t/asus-rt-ac58u-crashes-under-heavy-load-after-a-while/33008. If you can still return it for something with sufficient amounts of RAM (ipq40xx is fine, but it just needs at least 256 MB RAM), I'd recommend doing that.

2 Likes

It's over a year old and I can't return it.

Hello Sksar,

I'm also total newbie who plans to install OpenWRT on Asus RT-AC58U. I hope you installed OpenWRT successfully. If yes, can you tell me please, how did you "backup calibration data first", as I've the same doubts/questions as you had :slight_smile:

Best regards,
Mario

https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/installation/generic.backup

Any update?
I am an owner of new RT-AC1300UHP (RT-AC58U), who struggled to find guide on how to back Fatory1, Factory2 partition from NAND. Still running stock ASUS firmware with buggy QoS function, wish to be able upgrade to OpenWRT after backup.

• Enable SSH access on original firmware's web interface