How to configure VLANs correctly

Hi everyone,

we just built a house and we have the following components:

• Netgear R7800 router with OpenWRT

• Ruckus ICX7150-C12P switch

• 2x Ruckus R320 APs (one on each level)

I am completely new to Ruckus and VLANs and OpenWRT. My target is to have two VLANs, one for IOT/HomeKit components (we will go with Apple HomeKit for home automation) and the other one for laptops, iPads etc. the iPads should be able to see the IOT components, but not the other way around. I also want to be able to limit the internet access for single IOT components for privacy purposes.

In a second step I would like to channel selected components through Wireguard VPN on the router.

I hope you guys can give me some ideas on how to configure this setup!

Thanks a lot in advance!

Well for everything that runs openwrt this are the guides

Also maybe this thread give you some ideas

2 Likes

I've been digging through the same documentation. The problems are fairly obvious:

• for a total beginner re: VLANs, the wiki page is practically useless, as it does not go into detail what exactly the settings do
  • Since OpenWrt switched to DSA, the guides are also incorrect, making it much harder to understand what's going on and what settings your situation needs

Same goes for forum posts. I think the project as a whole would gain a lot from people rewriting most of these guides, based on a recent version, with visualisations, and frequently used solutions used as examples.

3 Likes

The WIP is getting whipped; it is a volunteer effort.

5 Likes

trouble is there isn't really a 'recent' version with dsa/vlan support... I think a realistic date/goal for such clear documents is around 21.02.2.

yeah... as someone with a background with vlans... even swconfig throws my head sideways... because a router has 'internal' vlans VS 'on-the-wire' vlans... which is REALLY difficult to convey... even to someone who has no problem understanding vlans at all...