Wireless Access Point and VLANs

I'm relatively new at OpenWRT and need some help. Im using the tp-link AC1750 Archer C7 v5.6 with firmware version: OpenWrt 19.07.3 r11063-85e04e9f46 / LuCI openwrt-19.07 branch git-20.136.49537-fb2f363. I have the device setup as a Wireless Access Point per this tutorial: https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/wifi/dumbap.

I made two 5GHz SSID wireless networks. I want to make each of them seperate vlans and both vlans connect to Ethernet Port 1 on the back of the router, wich will connect directly to a port on a pfsense router. The idea is that each wireless access point would get its own subnet ip address from the router and I can keep the traffic on bother wireless access points seperate from eachother.

Does this setup make sense or is there a better way to do this? Can someone point me in the right direction on how to setup the vlans and map them to the wifi networks and ports? I'm not sure what to search for so my searches arent getting me there.

Thanks.

What you need is called "trunking", and basically consists in tagging traffic on the ethernet ports separately for each VLAN.

Well technically 3 steps:

1. Go to Network -> Switch -> Add VLAN and create the additional VLAN's you want. You would then need to configure them as "tagged" on the Ethernet Port towards the PFSense. Also would need have them tagged on the CPU.
  2. Network -> Interface - Add new Interface. Create a new Interface with Protocol Unmanaged and on Physical Settings choose the VLAN.
  3. In your Wireless settings for the respective SSID under "Network" choose the Interface
2 Likes

Hi,

I have the same doubt, regarding that matter. I've got a main router that "deploys" the vlans through the network (i have more than one) and the idea is to broadcast several SSIDs according to the vlans. For instance:

MAIN ROUTER (TRUNK - Vlan 1, Vlan 2, Vlan3) -> Switch -> OpenWRT ROUTER (AP)-> Wifi1, Wifi2, Wifi3