USB configuration questions

Is there any method of mounting a harddisk to Open Wrt without having to wipe it? I have a 8tb external harddisk and nothing else to back its data up to. Its file format is ex-fat. And if I wanted to mount something, how would I set up my computer to see it? It's not like ready share where there's info about what address to connect to.

It can be mounted, as long as the fs is supported.

2 Likes

this can be done without having to reformat it?

What did I just reply ?

Mount <> format

1 Like

apologies.

Try installing the kmod-fs-exfat package, see if it's enough to be able to read the drive.

1 Like

I'm a bit of a noob, what would be the command to do that?

opkg update
opkg install kmod-fs-exfat
2 Likes

How can I tell its drive letter?

"Drive Letter" is a Windows concept, so I don't understand your inquiry.

Sorry, I thought the drive letter mattered. What am I doing wrong here?

First off - You're using Windows network tools to try to mount a HDD on another system. I see a Windows screen that says "cannot access mnt/sda2". That's incorrect.
Since I don't know you're goals, it's difficult to say what you're doing wrong.

On Windows:

• Samba/SMB
  • SSH File Transfer

I have it already successfully mounted to the router. How can I find the address I need to enter?

The IP of the router - the same IP you've been using to access it. :man_shrugging:

:spiral_notepad: But you need to use:

• Did you set up Samba on the OpenWrt; or
  • Are you using SSH File transfer with a program like Filezilla?

...No I didn't set up samba. I'm literally a noob to this I thought I could just mount it, find the address, and add it to windows explorer as a network drive

If you want to access the HDD from a Windows computer, you'll need to setup file services compatible with Windows on the OpenWrt.

And I would do that how? I literally am a noob and I am sorry if I am being annoying. Also goddamnit, I don't have enough space for Samba...