Support for D-Link DIR-816?

Hi!
I was redirected here as my device is not mentioned in the Table of Hardware by OpenWrt.

I am wondering if there is a way I could install an existing compatible image.
I could try to find out any hardware details from the internet. I also have the source code for the existing firmware from D-Link as they open sourced it.

My intention here is to add support for this device (DIR-816) so any tips and guides that you think might be helpful. I am a self taught developer. I might not know everything but I am willing to give it a shot! :smiley:

The concept of 'compatible' devices in the sense of interchangable binary firmware images basically doesn't exist for embedded devices like routers, so you will have to do some amount of porting yourself - that may be simple, if there are similar devices, or it may be harder; at least the 5 GHz wlan isn't going to work (and I'm already assuming the only possible option, the "D-Link DIR-816 rev A1" and not the "D-Link DIR-816L rev A1" here).

1 Like

(Moved to the For Developers section.)

1 Like

@slh Yes, it's D-Link DIR-816 rev A1. It has a 2.4GHz and 5GHz wlan support with stock firmware.
Although it's not a deal breaker for me, but I want to know more about why the 5GHz wlan won't work.

Please don't mind if it's a stupid question as I am totally new here. I request you to please share any reference to any form of documentation related to this as that might help me getting on the same page or considering noobness, same book. :sweat_smile:

@lleachii Thank you for moving this to right department. :grin:

1 Like

Not a problem.

You wanna hardware hack too? :slight_smile:
Here's a basic list:

Roger that

I was able to open up the router without breaking anything! Yay!
Here are some pics. Let me know if you need something else.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/BfvJeD8RJuoSvYms6.