[Solved]My phone private DNS provider not working with Openwrt

Hi,
I use dns.adguard.com in my Android phone settings to block ads, and it worked seamlessly on DD-WRT.
However, with OpenWrt (KONG 23.05 NSS), I encounter an issue – no internet on my Android phone unless I disable the private DNS provider. Can you suggest any changes in OpenWrt options to resolve this? I'm a civil engineer, so I prefer straightforward instructions with minimal programming and more GUI adjustments. :blush: I appreciate your help!

It's an R7800, connected via a LAN cable to the main router. I also use a WireGuard client, but removing the WireGuard interface doesn't fix the problem.

If you use Kong, you have to ask Kong.

3 Likes

I thought it might be related to a basic DNS option common to all OpenWrt versions that I'm not aware of, and someone can refer to it.

Openwrt isn't enforcing the DNS IPs unless you make it.

If you haven't made any changes in the fw, there's nothing stopping the client from using a 3rd party DNS.

But again, that's on stock Openwrt, with Kong, who knows.

2 Likes

Thanks, I will perform factory reset and check again, may be I messed with something when I was setting up the wireguard vpn client.

I don’t really think that line makes your case. Civil engineers are trained to go out by them self looking for the complex answers for complex technical questions usually in spectacular complex multi source text form and then solve the problem.

But this tread will not really go anywhere anyway since it obviously isn’t an OpenWrt install, as already mentioned.
Why not simply install the genuine OpenWrt on your router as step one?

1 Like

I mean I specialize in civil engineering so my expertise doesn't extend to networking and programming. I may struggle to comprehend detailed networking discussions.

NSS cores support?