Router with free offline educational content

Hey! I'm part of a nonprofit working to make educational content more accessible to the developing world.

The strategy is to load educational content onto a device that can act as a router, so children nearby can access the content through a smartphone (even if they don't have WiFi). This has been implemented here (https://worldpossible.org/). However, these devices are pretty expensive and are for large-scale use.

A product called ZoomGo is $5-$10 and is used for wireless in-car entertainment. ZoomGo has been previously discussed on this forum. We were planning on loading educational content into ZoomGo and having it function as a router. Unfortunately, we could not get the phone app to open and the reviews for the app are very bad.

I'm wondering if there's a product at a similar price point to ZoomGo that we could use? I'm not very technically-savvy, so I wanted to post here to ask. Any suggestions are welcome!

As the device is offline, I suppose you mean an AP and not a router.

First device which comes to my mind is a Raspberry Pi Zero W, which has wifi and a micro SD card, and enough oomph to run a simple webserver.

2 Likes

Thanks so much! Do you have an estimate as to how many users could connect to the Raspberry Pi Zero W at one point in time, and how far away these users could be?

The cheapest rachel device is $179, so if you have any suggestions for more expensive devices that can serve more students in a larger geographical range, please list those as well.

I'm also wondering if Zsun Wifi Card Reader would work?

The RPis radios/antennas are pretty shitty, if you want to cover a larger area, get something router (running as AP) or AP like.

And 802.1n is better than 802.11ac, in wall penetration.

1 Like

This doesn't add up though...

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll look into this more.