Router for little bandwith connection

Hey there,

I read the FAQ and some similar forum posts, but I'm a total newbie about routers and networking, and I want to buy a router that perfectly suits me.

My ISP provides me with a 6 mbps connection. It's a bit shitty but it's for the most part stable, so I'm not complaining. Plus, other ISP provide almost same result where I live.

It's stable but I have some issues with some games. In particular Path of Exile. I have 30ms most of the time, but I have to make sure I'm the only one using internet in the house. Even more I have to make sure POE is the only thing using internet on my computer. Which is not great since I love playing this game listening to music or a streamer.

I'm fully aware that 6mbps isn't enought to download and watch a stream and listen to music and play a video game. That's why when I do it I lower the quality to the minimum. And I have great result, only the start of the music provokes lags.

I have to add that I already ask the support of POE for help about this, they made me do a WinMTR but they couldn't help me further than tell me to power cycle my modem. I don't blame them. But having horrible lags when my room mate check his mailbox is a bit frustrating !

So 2 years ago I bought an Asus RT-AC 1200g+ to have access to QoS and may be limit this initial lag at the start of every music. I had some good results, I have to say. But it wasnt near perfect and the QoS seemed a bit poor on that device. And since I can't find any custom firware for this one, I wanted your help to buy one that works well with OpenWrt and most of all that suits my purpose.