[PATCH] SQUASHFS: data probably corrupt

This is actually a solution

This is not an "issue" what I'm posting here, instead, it's a solution. A patch for the Linux kernel that might solve the SQUASHFS problem for some devices [don't expect this to be a magic solution if your hardware is actually faulty].

The background behind this research

I'm a developer, I started my journey by developing for AOSP when I was younger (like when I was 15 or 16). I may not be the smartest or the wiser, neither the more expert. However, I do have a strong willpower. My device, the EA6350v3, works fine. It's a nice device, some issues with the VLAN and the switch (which I've fixed myself) and with the fact that ath10k is far from perfect. Still, a nice experience.

It worked flawlessly and amazingly running Linux 4.14 and Linux 4.19, but that quickly changed when Linux 5.4 came to master. Since then, when using the USB port and the WiFi intensively at the same time (say, using it as a NAS), and particularly with Samba since the binary weigths like 30MB, the device will spam the log like this:

[ 6282.919915] spi-nand spi0.1: SPI transfer failed: -110
[ 6282.919983] spi_master spi0: failed to transfer one message from queue
[ 6282.924107] ubi0 warning: ubi_io_read: error -110 while reading 4096 bytes from PEB 261:73728, read only 0 bytes, retry
[ 6283.008726] SQUASHFS: error: xz decompression failed, data probably corrupt
[ 6283.008737] SQUASHFS: error: squashfs_read_data failed to read block 0x10d0386
[ 6283.009113] SQUASHFS error: Unable to read fragment cache entry [10d0386]

Spamming the whole kernel log is not the actual issue: the process needing the resources from the ROM will eventually crash, and it can be init, since it may need a shared library, some code swapped-out of memory, from the ROM, since init must live in the flashable SQUASHFS partition; or to run some busybox tool, and if init crashes, the kernel will immediately panic.

I debugged the issue in multiple ways: