OpenWrt can ping internet but clients cannot

Hi OpenWrt-Experts out there,

[Sorry for the long text, but I hope this helps to better understand my lack of knowledge and the current technical situation...]

I'm a newbie in OpenWrt and obviously so far do not understand core concepts of networking configuration.

My goal is to implement a OpenWrt based solution for parental control at home. OpenWrt (Fritzbox 3370) is placed behind ISP router (Fritzbox 7390, connected via VDSL). Then I want to limit internet access on MAC level together with time limitations... I found some high-level articles about that and think that this target can be reached...

I already flashed FB3370 with "OpenWrt 19.07.3 r11063-85e04e9f46 / LuCI openwrt-19.07 branch git-20.136.49537-fb2f363" and are able to access web frontend and SSH.

OpenWrt: 192.168.0.96
ISP router FritzBox 7390: 192.168.0.97 (and fallback IP 169.254.1.1)
Port 1 of OpenWrt is connected to ISP router
Ports 2-4 of OpenWrt are connected to local clients (192.168.0.*)

Then I created 2 VLANs as FB3370 does not seem to have a dedicated UPLINK port.
#1 for lan
#2 for wan (--> FB7390)

So far OpenWrt can access LAN devices and vice versa. Local routing works.
Then I found out that I need a static route to enable OpenWrt to access the internet.
route: WAN/0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0/169.254.1.1

If I understood well the ISP router usually is in a different subnet than OpenWrt router. This is why I use the fallback IP 169.254.1.1 of ISP router for the moment.
I try leave the configuration of ISP router unchanged as long as possible until I know enough about OpenWrt to finish implementation soon.

Current problem:
Client devices cannot access internet.

I played around with further static routes but nothing worked so far. Several times I had to access OpenWrt by Failsafe-mode and revert changes in /etc/config/network by hand... :frowning:

Could you please help me to better understand the relevant background I need to achieve the target?