Looking for advice - Device for home Wireguard server

Hello, I am looking to purchase a device on which I can run a Wireguard server in my home. The purpose is to have the IP address from my home while abroad. The typical use case will be streaming video. The network speeds in my home are 500 Mbps up and down.

From what I have gathered so far (and this is all still a bit confusing to me as I have never done this before) I can either port forward the necessary ports for Wireguard or use Tailscale and set up the device as an exit node.

In my search, I came across the GL.iNet Brume 2 (GL-MT2500) but it turns out not to be compatible with Openwrt. In the thread about this device I see some people recommending the NanoPi R4S.

One benchmark I found indicates the R4S can go to about 820 Mbps on Wireguard performance which in any case is a lot better than the GL-MT2500's advertised 355Mbps.

With all that said, are there other recommended products, perhaps more suitable, that can serve my purpose?
Secondly, can these devices somehow be remotely restarted in case the Wireguard server stops working? This device will be unattended without anybody in the home for months at a time and getting a relative to come over and take a look would be quite cumbersome.

My regards, Sven

Check the wg speed thread to inform your purchase decision. Get as much CPU today as you can. Having a device that 'only' does 600mbps is no fun if you crank up your home Internet to 1gbps.

I've not had to reboot my devices on stable branches (v23.05). Stable as.

Thank you for linking this list. From the products listed there it seems the Raspberry Pi 5 is the best bang for buck option, 2.6 Gbps for under $80 which is not much more expense than the R4S options in my country. Though it does not specify if that is the 4GB or 8GB (more expensive) model.