Just bought a TP-Link archer a9 Advice Wanted Should I return it?

I am new to this. Just found out it doesn't support 2.45GHz (the wiki should be updated to show that as this was known at least a year ago), is it still usable in 2023? is it otherwise usable? is there a better googling for hours I didn't many list that had better options for the money, note I'm am looking for wpa3. Any advice would be appreciated before I install openwrt on it so I can return it if there's something better for about 60$. I was worried the c7 would be unsupported sooner with having less mem.

C7 should see continuous support, 16/128 is still fine for another release or two and the router is one of the evergreens in the community. It is EOL though since 1 year, so you'll probably only find used ones.

1 Like

OK but can I do wpa3 with it? and is it likely the a9 will ever get that kinda support? cause I'd rather stick with the 9 if that's the case and wait case I could have it run more but if it's only ever going to be 5GHz that kinda changes things. Or is the c7 able to do more then I think? and what do you mean by EOL? and if there's anything I can do to be able to help with getting 2.45GHz running I might be willing to risk bricking it in the future to help test that functionality. You mean "end of life" right? if so why sense year one just curious? when you say release or two do you mean major or bug fix and how long between these two releases are we talking a year or 3? cause if it's only a year is there anything in that price range will out last that? Basically I'm willing to keep what I have now for the better features and security (mostly that one) assuming 2.45GHz will likely work in the next 1-3 years. I'm just finding it hard to find something not lacking in a lot that's not way more then 60$ now if I have to spend 80 or 100 I'm OK with that unless 60$ will actually do it. Because wpa3 is important if I can get it.