Is it a waste of time to flash Asus RT-AC58U?

So I'm new to openwrt, kind of a rabbit hole I fell into after switching to Linux two years ago, and I thought I bought a router with good openwrt-support last year to flash someday but seems I failed.

Since it says "There were multiple reports of instability under load, likely due to 128 MB RAM being insufficient for two “ath10k” radios." on https://openwrt.org/toh/asus/rt-ac58u it's not much of an idea I suppose?

I'm better off just leaving my RT-AC58U router with the proprietary firmware and then in the future I get a device with proper specs for openwrt?

But there is also mentioned:

19.07 is now using kmod-ath10k-ct-smallbuffers by default, with many reporting no issues for this device.

So I would give this device a try. Overall it depends on your needs/possibilities. If I read:

There were multiple reports of instability under load, likely due to 128 MB RAM being insufficient for two “ath10k” radios.

I would maybe disable one of the radios (either 2,4GHz or 5GHz) if the above fix is not resolving the issuses for you.

Read the advises for flashing carefully esp.:

backup calibration data first: AC58U no wireless option in network after installing 18.06.1

And choose the right firmware for your device.

1 Like

Wow! Cool, thank you very much. :slight_smile:

Just one question, if you know and I'm not wasting your time (I'm starting to sense I'm coming into the domain where I should just sit down and reread the instructions, Google what I don't know until it makes sense), otherwise I could make a new post as well in case I just can't figure it out.

I saw that for the device it is listed that WARNING - backup calibration data first and then the link you provided. I read the post that was marked as solution, but I did not understand how to do the backup based on those instructions.