How to test if certain QOS features are working/active

Having used the Web GUI for my SQM to set up cake, I was wondering if there is a way to test if diffserv4 is active and if per host isolation is working? In the queue discipline tab and under advanced and then dangerous in the option:

Advanced option string to pass to the ingress queueing disciplines; no error checking, use very carefully. - I have this code- diffserv4 nat dual-dsthost ingress mpu 64

And in the other option-
Advanced option string to pass to the egress queueing disciplines; no error checking, use very carefully-
I have this code- diffserv4 nat dual-srchost mpu 64
Is this correct? This is my first time using openwrt and I'm very new to it all!

Thanks in advance
(I attached a picture in case I made no sense!)

It seems right.

if you ssh into the router and run tc -s qdisc you will see a summary of info on your qdiscs... it should talk about the 4 tins into which traffic can flow and give a bunch of statistics etc.

This is what I get:

And with that setup I've noticed my speeds are not capped at the rate I set so the SQM is not working.

Yeah, SQM is not up and running (yet). So, having saved your SQM configs etc, the easiest thing is to do a simple reboot.

I seem to have problems if i leave diffserv4 in so I've removed it and all seems decent. Have to do some real world tests to see what's what.
I don't really know if diffserv4 is what I want anyway, I just want a smooth gaming connection without limiting other devices to a crawl.

diffserv4 should work, so if it doesn't I'm sure someone would like to know about it. On the other hand, it might not be all that useful for you, for example if you don't have DSCP tags on your packets then it won't work any different really.

1 Like

One way to test is to issue the following command on the router's command line interface:
SQM_DEBUG=1 SQM_VERBOSITY_MAX=8 /etc/init.d/sqm stop ; SQM_DEBUG=1 SQM_VERBOSITY_MAX=8 /etc/init.d/sqm start