How to randomize the WAN Mac address on each reboot?

Why do you need this: I want to get a new public IP address everytime I reboot the router in order to (for example) bypass the megaupload restrictions etc

Thanks

Only the far-end equipment of your ISP sees MAC.

Is "megaupload" an ISP "sales phrase", or a website?

If a website, changing MAC does nothing.

:bulb: So you're actually tying to force your ISP to issue new IPs to you?

IPv6 or IPv4?

:spiral_notepad: (You don't have to change MAC to get a new IP address for IPv6)

:warning: (and doing that via IPv4 without ending the lease may cause other issues with your ISP - that they'll eventually trace to you, and not like!)

:warning: also, if it's a website - @psherman notifying a mod, because asking how to violate terms-of-services, etc. is not allowed on this forum

1 Like

You wrote the abuser part in your nickname wrong.

1 Like

Im from argentina, I doubt they care. Ive been doing this since 2008 but manually.
I would like to automatize the process.

1 Like

Only the far-end equipment of your ISP sees MAC.

Why do they need to see my MAC?

Because you want Internet (i.e. ISP connection).

1 Like

So, if i understand right, it's like this:

My device with MAC --> asking ISP for IP --> ISP gives IP --> MAC is now hidden by IP and websites I visit will only see IP ?

No.

MAC- Layer 2
IP - Layer 3

(This is not OpenWrt-specific.)

1 Like

Just do a bash script to randomly modify the mac and put in /etc/init.d and call it from /etc/rc.d (like all any other init script). Use the $RANDOM variable of bash scripting.

Some ISPs change the customer public ip address when the mac is changed (they have semi fixed ip address). And I guess that's the reason of he want to do it, he want to create a random mac, to get different ip address from his ISP each time and that way he can access to certain web services who limit access by ip address.

For anyone insterested heres the solution: