Having trouble connecting to web after rpi4 install

so i am having trouble connecting to the internet after installing openwrt on my rpi4. i think my problem is with where i wire the cables. so i will probably have many questions within this post, so please bear with me because i have zero experience in networking, i just wanted a safer/faster internet connection for all my devices on my home network. before installing openwrt on my rpi4 my setup looked like this: 1 cable modem connected to netgear router (which is not able to install openwrt) and from that router i have 1 wired connection to a server that has docker containers and i connect my laptop and desktop wirelessly to that netgear router, thats it.

now the rpi4 that i have only has the 1 ethernet port but i have a usb to ethernet adapter to go with it. so in my head with the little knowledge i have, theoretically i should just be able to move my rpi4 in place of the netgear router i have, after the initial setup of course of getting an ip address and such. but that is right when i seem to run into trouble.

the tutorial i followed to get to where i am now is this one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TsOpO6O4xDE it is at the 16:29 mark that i start to have trouble when he configures the WAN interface, he hits save and apply then goes to change the wires around but looks like he introduces a third ethernet wire that i have no idea where it goes to. he says 'computer' but does he mean router? because in my mind that is where it should be plugged into but if it really is computer, wouldn't the router still be in front of the rpi4? i thought the whole point was for the rpi4 to take the routers place? anyway, up til this point, how should my wires be connected? from cable modem to netgear router WAN, LAN from router to rpi4 ethernet port? then usb to ethernet back to router? or LAN on router to computer? but then my computer only has 1 ethernet port too so i dont see how i could plug another cable to rpi4?