GL-AR750S settings are always lost after reboot

I am using the openwrt-21.02.3-ath79-nand-glinet_gl-ar750s-nor-nand-initramfs-kernel.bin file.

I bricked the device at first, so I did a reset and was able to succesfully install the file above using the u-boot debrick method (basically, hold reset button until the light flashes 5 times, see that 2.5ghz light turned on, stop holding button, go to 192.168.1.1). I did some changes dns intercept, wireless, interfaces, firewall, etc, then when I pressed reboot all was lost

I found mentions of this issue in 2 forum posts, but I am not sure if I understood properly. My belief is that this was fixed on later updates of this firmware, especially because the latest post was testing a release candidate. If a solution was mentioned here, I couldn't catch it because I am a noob.

Is there any way I can fix this issue?
Would it be a good idea to try and flash the nand image instead?

initramfs doesn't save data to the flash, it's designed for running in the device's RAM.
whatever settings you change/apply, will get lost in a reboot.

oh :frowning:

Should I choose a sysupgrade then? Looks like the only option. Not sure if you can just change things from initramfs to squashfs

read the wiki I added to my post.

okay I see, I have to reset the router again. Can't do it through luci because of that unsupported format bug

can always export your settings 1st, to avoid redoing all the config you've made.

I wanted to reset anyways, I shouldn't had setup dns intercept settings without connecting and installing my pihole first (it was not even installed @_@.... silly mistakes). It became difficult to backtrack what I did and remove and disable things