Getting to grips with /etc/config/network

I'm having a hard time getting to grips with /etc/config/network and could do with an explanation of some terms. There are mentions of eth0.1 eth0.2 lan wan switch vlan and lists of ports. I have one WAN port and four LAN ports. How can I tell which refers to what?
I would like all my ports to have IP addresses assigned by my DHCP server which would also be my Internet gateway. How do I configure my system so that all the LAN ports route via the WAN port?

Here's mine.

I only have 1 CPU eth, thus eth0.
There is 2 virtual LAN on my eth0. eth0.1 and eth0.2

VLAN1 is my eth0.1, all phsyical LAN ports are assigned to it.
VLAN2 is my eth0.2 and only my physical WAN port is assigned.

Hope it helps. Newbie here.

1 Like

Looks like you want to configure your device as a "dumb access point", there is a guide for that.

2 Likes

I did read the guide:-

TL;DR Here are the important configurations for a Wireless AP router (Dumb AP):

1. The dumb AP is connected LAN-to-LAN to the main router through an Ethernet cable.
  2. The dumb AP bridges its wireless interface onto its LAN interface. Wireless traffic on the dumb AP goes to its (Ethernet) LAN interface, and then to the main router.
  3. The dumb AP LAN port has a static address on the same subnet as the main router's LAN interface
  4. The dumb AP's gateway is set to the address of the main router
  5. The dumb AP does not provide DHCP service, DNS resolution, or a firewall

I don't get point 3. Shouldn't the AP's WAN port be connected to the main router's LAN interface?

Thanks but I don't understand VLANs at all and wonder if I need to define them...

I'm still trying to find out what ports eth0 eth0.1 eth0.2 are physically assigned to.

AFAIK, dumb AP on that guide doesn't utilize WAN. So you have to connect your dumb AP's LAN to your main routers LAN.

Can you share a screenshot of your Switch configuration via LuCi->Network->Switch.