Fritz!Box 7530 and 7490 as Modem+Router combo for 35b Supervectoring

Hello everyone,

I just moved to a new place and have a new internet connection (250Mbit over DSL with 35b supervectoring), and I would like to switch to OpenWRT for some of its features.

I am currently using a stock Fritz!Box 7530 as the Modem and Router, and I still have a Fritz!Box 7490 lying around. I'm currently thinking of installing OpenWRT on the 7490 (development seems to be going quite well) and keeping the 7530 on stock. I could then use the 7530 as the modem and connect the 7490 with OpenWRT as my router. However, I'm quite new to networking and honestly don't know if / how I would be able to use DECT / ISDN (which device would be responsible for that, the 7530 modem or 7490 router?). Furthermore, I've read contradicting opinions on whether it is possible to use the Fritz!Box as a standalone modem.

Can you give me some hints how I could set up my networking to take full advantage of the 250Mbit contract, have full DECT / ISDN functionality and use OpenWRT on my router? I'm also more than happy with links to documentation / resources that deal with similar topics, as I would love to understand this better myself. Anyway, I'm very thankful for any answers and directions you can give me.

Jogius

Fritzbox 7490 is not supported yet, but work seems to have progressed quite a fair bit. Some people are currently running tests. See https://github.com/openwrt/openwrt/pull/5075. If the first post is still up to date, DECT / ISDN telephony is or will not be supported, but that is fine, as long as you opt to use this device simply as wifi repeater or dump AP.

Fritzbox 7530 looks even more promising. It is supported already. See https://openwrt.org/toh/avm/avm_fritz_box_7530, except DECT / ISBN is also falls flat.