File system and console differences

I have a device that I built an Openwrt image for a while back, and it was working great.
I am slowly getting used to the build and upgrade procedures :wink:
I refreshed my OpenWrt build system and built a new image for the same device. It now has a few difference that I'm not sure how to fix.

The two main differences are - i)Filesystem allocation and ii)Console port allocation.

File System
So my previous build resulted in a filesystem allocation like this:
Screenshot 2020-05-20 at 10.42.26

And my new build looks like this:
Screenshot 2020-05-20 at 11.11.54
Note that the bulk of the freespace has moved from '/' to '/rom'

Console Port
The second difference is the console port.
Mid-way through the boot it changes from ttys0 to ttyS2 - and ttysS2 is not available on my board.

So I'm guessing I have to dig into some build config files to sort these - but I wouldn't know where to start! (I am just a beginner at building with OpenWrt!)

Can anyone show my how to adjust the two things above?

You should at least tell us from which device you are speaking and what is the difference in the build config of your two self built images.

2 Likes

Hi @juppin - yeah sorry - here's the build device setup:
Screenshot 2020-05-20 at 12.40.18

I did a build last year on an existing buid machine I inherited from a colleague. (that's the first build in my original post).
I got a new build machine, downloaded OpenWrt again, did a build - it has the above differences.

I'm interested in how to modify the build to effect and reverse changes like the ones I have seen above.

So we are talking about the LinkIt Smart 7688, right?

1 Like

Hi @tmomas - no, it's a similar device not listed. (HLK-7688A)
But to be honest, does it matter? I'm asking for general advice on how to edit things like the file system allocations and console serial port. Surely that applies no matter what the device?