DHCP Forwarder

Hello, I am new to Openwrt and not at all familiar with the command line interface. I have installed OpenWrt version 21.02 on my TP-Link router. I am trying to configure the router as a DHCP forwarder as I have another device on my network as a DHCP server. I would like to do this through the Luci interface as I am not familiar with the command line.

I have spent several days going through forums to try and find info on how I would accomplice this task via the gui without success. I would appreciate any help that you can provide to guide me on how to configure my device so that DHCP addresses requests are forwarded to my DHCP server.

I ahve experimented with server DHCP options without success.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Is the DHCP server on the same subnet as the TP-Link router's LAN? Do you have just a single subnet, or are you using VLANs?

If you have a flat (single) network, all you need to do is disable the DHCP server on your OpenWrt LAN interface, and then let the alternate DHCP server do its thing.

LuCI > Network> Interfaces > LAN [edit] > DHCP Server > Ignore Interface

For testing purposes, I have it all on a single subnet and eventually when i get things working, I intend to use a VLAN. I did already try LuCI > Network> Interfaces > LAN [edit] > DHCP Server > Ignore Interface prior to posting on this forum but I could't get DHCP forwarding to work. None of the devices attached to the LAN would receive an address from the DHCP server.

Any other suggestions that I might be able try. Thanks again!

If the DHCP server is on the same subnet, there is no need to do any "forwarding" at all -- it just needs to be online and enabled, and it should just work. I mentioned that you need to disable the OpenWrt DHCP server because you can only have a single DHCP server on a network.