Cannot Install Luci on R6700v2

I'm very new to OpenWrt and just found out that my router (Netgear R6700v2) was supported in a non-stable build. I downloaded "openwrt-ramips-mt7621-netgear_r6700-v2-squashfs-factory.img" (which came out only around a month or so ago) and uploaded it to the router. The install seemed successful, however I cannot access the router through 192.168.1.1, I can however reach the router through PuTTy and get the root welcome screen. I tried installing Luci but was greeted with the following error:

Master ('snapshot') builds do not have a web interface unlike stable releases. You are probably running a build that by now has been replaced by a newer one.

The easiest way to go about this is to use the image builder to generate an image with the web interface included.

Do keep in mind though MT7615 support (your wireless radios) is pretty young so it's not fully stable yet AFAIK.

1 Like

I imagine that you meant you can't access the router's Web interface but you can access it via SSH. So, yes, you need to install LuCI.

Get the sysupgrade image for your router http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/targets/ramips/mt7621/openwrt-ramips-mt7621-netgear_r6700-v2-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin, install it using sysupgrade comnand then immediately iayely install LuCI the same way you were doing.

1 Like

I just did this and now the router is on a boot loop and I can’t connect to it. Was this not the same build mt7621 as the other build I posted?

1 Like

I am sorry that this happened. I don't know why it happened.

Factory images (like the one you posted) are for installing OpenWrt on devices that are running OEM firmware. Sysupgrade images are for upgrading OpenWrt. The target and the hardware revision look the dame to me, so I don't know why it was bricked.