Archer C7 AP replacement

Hi,

Noob here.

My network is rather simple; a router and a archer C7 V5 as a wired AP. I want to use the C7 for an other project so I have to replace it
I could get a new C7 (because it served me well) but the device isn't that modern anymore. Are there currently better choices?
Any advice is welcome.

TIA

1. Yes
  2. Perhaps you want to explain a bit more of the requirements
  3. There are a handful of recent forums threads covering this, did you have a look at those?

Hi, Thanks for responding.

1. By Yes you mean there are alternatives? I would love to hear them.
  2. Currently the C7 is serving some dozen WIFI client at the first floor of my house, equally divided between 2.4 and 5 GHz. It are some pc's/laptops, consoles (Xbox, Nintendo etc.), a wds client and some android phones. Also one PC is connected via ethernet.
    I don't know if these are very demanding requirements.
  3. Yes i searched the forum. The topics i found where mostly about a router replacement and/or the WAN (and/or VPN) speeds it could handle. Not a "simple" alternative for an AP.
    If i overlooked topics I'm glad to receive some pointers.

What speed you are looking at is also a factor. Also are you considering serving media files (i.e. via miniDLNA)? In fact even if you are currently doing that on your min router, as you are upgrading the AP you may consider moving that to the AP to take some load off the main router.

So that rules out any AP with a single LAN port.

For pure AP functionality, the various supported ipq40xx devices come to mind (priced the similarly as the archer c7) with 2-stream 802.11ac wave2 - or ipq8065 for 4-stream 802.11ac wave2 (for roughly three times as much).

1 Like

What speed you are looking at is also a factor. Also are you considering serving media files

I would prefer the same or higher speeds than the C7. No point in standing stil.
Media files are no issue.

So that rules out any AP with a single LAN port.