X86 router (need help)

I have found a mobo with an intel n3160 (4 cores, 1.6GHz) for 40€. Would it be a good idea to use it as a wifi router? I already have a spare 2gb ram stick at home for it and an msata ssd.
Here is a pic of it:

Specs:

• With Intel Celeron N3160 CPU ( 4 cores, 4 threads, 1.60GHz, up to 2.08GHz ) on-board;
  • Works with 1x DDR3L 1333/1600MHz 1.35V memory, max to 8GB;
  • Support 1x mSATA and 1x 2.5 inch SATA, free send SATA connector cables;
  • 1x Gigabit Ethernet LAN, 1x HDMI, 1x VGA, 4x USB 3.0, 2x USB 2.0 ( free send expansion USB connectors ), 1x MIC, 1x SPK;
    ​- 1x half height size Mini PCIE for WiFi/Bluetooth module;
  • OS support Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 10, Linux, Ubuntu and more.

Which dual-band wifi card should I buy? Is there any which can work at the same time in both bands as an AP?

Any help will be greatly appreciated as I am a newbie in OpenWrt

Will you be getting extra NICs as well? If you haven't bought it a board with multiple NICs is a better solution.

It supports 1 mini pcie NIC, so if I find one which supports dual-band AP mode simultaneously there's no problem. Do you know any other board with more NICs?
Thank you

One of the mainstays is the APU2. Another interesting board is the Odroid H2, but you should check if there's expansion slots beyond M.2 (which is storage only afaik on that board).

1 Like

In my build I used a mini-pci express to pci-express daughter board. This is a PCI-express card that can house two mini-pci express cards, one on either side of the board. This allowed me to put two mini-pci express cards into my single pci express slot.

I had to do this at the time since no cards were available that did both 2.5ghz and 5ghz: it was either or. So I had to use two cards.

Here is a link to an example adapter card that only has one mini pci express slot (I can't find a link for a 2 card version right now, but this gives you an idea of what you need).