Wrt3200acm esata port multiplier

I'm new to the Linux/OpenWRT/LEDE thing so be gentle.:slight_smile:

I have a Mediasonic H82-SU3S2 8-bay JBOD drive enclosure. It seems too unstable under the Linksys firmware and DD-WRT. Drives can unmount randomly.

I was able to mount all the drives on LEDE just fine on USB but I'd rather use eSATA because it's faster and much more stable (although I'm not sure if the wrt3200acm's esata controller can handle more than 5 esata drives). Is there any way to enable esata port multiplier on LEDE?
If esata can't see more than 5 drives I'll be stuck with USB anyways.

Can someone help me to enable port multiplier?

You will have to enable:

CONFIG_SATA_PMP=y

in file:

target/linux/mvebu/config-4.9

to enable the PM code in the kernel. So your build or one that has that enabled, as it is not enabled currently for LEDE but I think there is a FS requesting same.

Unfortunately most (e)SATA PMs seems really dodgy, the best one around seems to be Marvell 88SM9705 or 88SM9715 but good luck finding appliances.

Having the same question... say, is the stable Image Builder (17.01.4) sufficient to do this, or do I have to build the whole thing from source to get it working?

I tried the latest stable Image Builder to create images and also edited the file target/linux/mvebu/config-4.4 to include CONFIG_SATA_PMP=y but in the resulted image the function does not appear to be enabled as only the first drive is detected when connected with eSATA. This probably implies the kernel might have been precompiled and not adjustable...

If I need to build from source, is the current stable source available and sufficient? Since the config file for 4.9 kernel was mentioned I assumed you built the snapshot at the time of writing to enable it, as the stable build remained at 4.4 kernel.