WRT1900ACS - Losing connectivity to wireless Canon printer

Hi,

First post here, I'm running LEDE Reboot 17.01.4 on a Linksys WRT1900ACS. I've noticed recently that the Canon MG5500 printer that I have connect to the Wifi randomly stops allowing me to print from the laptop that is also on Wifi. The printer is assigned a static IP address via DHCP on the Linksys as are the other various hosts on the Wifi (none of which are experiencing issues).

On further investigation I found that while the printer doesn't respond to pings from my laptop, if I login to the Linksys I am able to ping the printer from there.

I tried looking at various logs on the router but don't see anything obvious. I resolved it by rebooting the router but obviously this is just a workaround.

I am relatively new to LEDE and would appreciate any pointers on how I can find the root cause of this.

Thanks
Martin

I would start by installing the updated wifi drivers for that device; go to the post below, and install the .IPK files from the last announcement:

Two ideas for you:

• Slightly different, but I experienced this with my wifi-connected Samsung printer: its sleep-mode affects also wifi, so after a while the printer loses connectivity via wifi. That can be changed in printer's admin menu, so that the wifi network capability stays active also in the sleep mode. Sounds a bit different than your problem (as you can still ping the printer from the router itself), but your problem might be something similar.
  • I have seen mentioned that some printers do not like old WPA encryption and prefer WPA2, so that using WPA would lead into wifi connectivity loss sooner or later.

Make also sure that you have the newest firmware in the printer itself.

You being able to ping from router itself but not from a client PC might also hint toward

• DNS/DHCP problem (if you are pinging with name instead of IP)
  • your firewall blocking the connection somehow, but that should not happen inside LAN