Which wireless technology should I use?

Hi, I'm new to OpenWrt, but have been using dd-wrt for many years. I have a simple system with a cable-modem and wireless router (dd-wrt) that works pretty well. It has a couple of dead spots, but those are in unused areas.

I've rescently installed a shed that's about 100 feet from the house. It's powered by solar (panels/inverter/battery/etc.), so has no wires of any kind going to it. I'll be adding various IP devices to the shed (cameras, solar monitoring, etc.), so I need a wireless connection from the house. The devices will be both wired and wireless.

I assume a range extender wouldn't be appropriate, so, it looks like my wireless choices are to use WDS or Mesh. Some of the dead areas in the house will eventually be used, so I'd like to solve that problem at the same time.

By the way, my current router is a Netgear Nighthawk R7800 (about 5 years old), but I plan to buy new hardware.

Any suggestions on which way to go, or, are there other solutions to consider?

Some kind of directional antenna: Yagi, flat etc.

100' on 2.4GHz is nothing outdoors with line of sight.

1 Like

First of all, consider 'a wire', you will prefer it. For outdoor cabling, fibre connections are strongly preferred, as they are lightning safe (no conductor inside, so not accidentally acting as lightning rod, nor endangering your devices on either end).