Which inexpensive AP has a switch?

Hi all. First let me say I'm a big networking/hardware newb compared to most of you. I'm looking for a wifi access point that also has a built in switch. I have a detached garage that friends and family like to hang out it. But we always have trouble getting a wifi signal. There is a cable running out there though, which is hooked up to the back of my router. This works great for the one desktop I have plugged in.

But we need wifi out there. So how about an access point with a switch built in, so that we can easily use the desktop computer and have wifi? (the desktop has no wifi card)

If it helps, I also have a standard TP Link switch. So maybe an AP with no built in switch would work, and I could just plug the AP and the Desktop into the little switch? Any help here would be greatly appreciated!

Just take a router, and configure it as AP.

6 Likes

yes you can get a wifi router with an integrated switch (5 ports on the back) and reconfigure it to be just an AP, the ports will still work as a switch so you have a single device doing two jobs.
here the instructions for a OpenWrt device https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/wifi/dumbap

but you don't need an OpenWrt device to do this, most wifi routers have an "AP mode" selector that turns the WAN port into another LAN port, and does the other configuration changes to turn them into a dumb AP

2 Likes

I had an old router but it got so hot I didn't want to use it. So I'm just looking for a good wifi access point. Does anyone have a recommendation? Perhaps one where you don't need any of their crappy proprietary software to use it. I was about to buy a TP Link one for $60, but one of the reviews said:

"You can’t program this device (create and ssid and password protect your WiFi) without downloading their app that logs all the sites you visit TP Link shares this information with their “partners” per their privacy policy."