Wan LED behavior change in openwrt

I am writing to request support for changing the WAN LED to amber when the internet connection is not present in my TP-Link Archer C6 V3 running OpenWRT. I have followed the instructions in the other forums but that didn't seems to be helping me.

I would be grateful if you could provide me with any advice on how I can resolve this issue. If there is any additional information I need to provide, please let me know.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

1 Like

use https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/base-system/hotplug to create script changing the LED color, when connection goes down/up.

ax example from another device Amber led on WRT3200ACM when VPN is down possible?

1 Like

Well I don't know how to do it for my router because I'm a noob to scripts but you can teach me how to implement. :confused:

want fries with that ?

google linux scripting for dummies ...

I am not familiar with the LUCI route so I will cover the way to do it via ssh-login and command line usage.

You need to edit the file /etc/config/system. There you'll find the LED entry for WAN.

config led 'led_wan'
	option name 'WAN'
	option sysfs 'green:wan'
	option trigger 'netdev'
	option mode 'link tx rx'
	option dev 'wan'

Change option sysfs 'green:wan' to option sysfs 'orange:wan:'

Quicker way with uci:
uci set system.led_wan.sysfs='orange:wan' and then uci commit

That should suffice.

1 Like

/etc/config/system
How to browse this file?

winscp works

1 Like

The wiki has the basic information on access via ssh: https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-quick-start/sshadministration

Depending on your OS you will find the steps to take there.

1 Like

I know how to access the ssh bht i don't know what commands I've to input.

Ah, I see. You either edit the file directly with vi /etc/config/system or use the following commands:

uci set system.led_wan.sysfs='orange:wan'
uci commit

You can verify the change with uci show system.led_wan