VPN won't start without enabling it?!

hello there,
I'm new to openwrt
I managed to get vpn client up and running using the wiki https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/services/vpn/openvpn/client-luci
but I tried to start the vpn without enabling it but it won't start. I have to enable it first start then i can stop and start it again. however, I don't want it to start automatically on boot as explained in the wiki "enable" is for it to start automatically with boot. how can I just start it without checking "enable" ?
edit: im using openwrt V19 RC1 because RC2 had an issue with wifi it didn't have the issue with RC1

any thoughts?
does it start without ticking enable?

If your desire is to turn it off and on manually, you'll likely have to setup by adding/removing the relevant routes instead.

what do you mean?
manual set up instead of config file?

No.

I mean, you describe this problem:

• Router boots
  • OpenVpn Starts

But instead you desire:

• Router boots
  • OpenVPN does not start

To do so, toggle the routes instead of trying to toggle the VPN. The VPN will stay on, but until you toggle the routes, it will not be used.

thank you for your response

would you be kind and tell me where I can toggle the routes?
I'm new to openwrt and it has been a fun learning curve to me

can't anyone help?

You can write script and run it with parameters to perform special tasks like yours.

1 Like

Same issue here. Does it mean that the intended behavior of OpenVPN is for an instance to start upon boot. One cannot boot AND THEN start OpenVPN by clicking on "start" and without using "enabled"? Thanks!