VLANs, Multiple SSIDs, and unmanaged switch

I just purchased two TP-Link EAP615-wall devices and successfully flashed with OpenWRT. My intention is to use these two APs as dumb access points with three SSIDs, using VLANs. However, the two EAP615-wall APs are powered by PoE and I am using an unmanaged TrendNet TPE-TG44g to provide power and connect them to my main router.

Am I able to use two (or more) of these EAP615-wall APs, all connected via ethernet to the unmanaged TPE-TG44g switch, the switch connected with one ethernet cable to the router, and have the ability to use VLANs? Or do I have to get a managed switch with 802.11q support?

I am new to networking, so I apologize if I've missed something.

Unmanaged switches are not designed to carry 802.1q tagged networks (i.e. VLANs). The behavior is undefined. Some switches may be okay, others may cause problems. There are a handful of oher reasons not to use an unmanaged switch which have been covered in other threads, so I won't repeat them here (just search the forum).

I would recommend that you change out your unmanaged switch for a managed one. But you can certainly try the unmanaged switch if you're willing to take the risk that it could cause serious problems on the network and/or you could have minor issues that are difficult to troubleshoot.

2 Likes

Just to add to what @psherman wrote, there are inexpensive managed switches with POE. For example I own the TL-SG108PE. They are not the epitome of security, but for a home network you can make some sacrifices.

3 Likes

Thank you. I have just ordered one.

Although you just ordered a switch, I cannot recommend the cheap TP-Link series - I have nothing but bad experience with the TL-SG108E (I assume it's the same as the TL-SG108PE just without PoE).

I upgraded to ZyXEL GS1900-8HP and ZyXEL GS1900-10HP devices, both supported by OpenWrt and with PoE on 8 ports.

2 Likes