Use SMB with WAN

I have install OpenWrt on my Nexx WT3020F and config it for share USB content by Samba (https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/services/nas/usb-storage-samba-webinterface).

I have connect the device to my network by WIFI, so I have set firewall to have access to LuCI by WAN.

Now I'd like set OpenWrt to share USB content (with Samba) by WAN, if I use a LAN cable to connect the device with my PC I have see the shared content by if I try to use WAN (withou LAN cable) I can see LuCI interface but not USB content.

Can you help me? (note I'm not an expert, this is my second time with OpenWRT)

Not recommended. Some ISPs filter ports and beside that you MUST at least use smb >=V3.0. Also accessing luci over internet without https is a no go. Aside that long and complex password absolutly required.

Tunnel it over VPN just like everyone else does

I want use it only on locale network (home network) wthout any accese from external.
In this moment samba doen't work if connect nexx by WiFi on my network. It works only if I connect the nexx by cable with a PC. In this way I can sede Giles by samba bit only from this PC.

you also have to setup a rule allowing acces to samba on tcp-port 445

I also think it's a port problem.
I thought I had opened the ports 137, 138, 139 and 445 for WLAN interface (https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/services/nas/cifs.server)
But if I test it FING (android app) they are closed, so you could explain to me how to open the ports for WLAN interface?

k, see: https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/services/nas/samba
you will also have to include wan/wifi interface in sama configline

1 Like

sshfs a little more complex to setup initially.... but once done.... pretty damn simple!

OK, I've made some progress.
Now see my Nexx from my PC between Wifi connect. I can see also samba share folder and open it but it's empty, there are not USB files.

This is my /etc/config/fstab:

config global
	option anon_swap '0'
	option anon_mount '0'