(Update: Likely Not OpenWRT Issue) Diagnosing Router Restarts -- Linksys EA6350v3 running 19.07

Hey all!

First, sorry if some of my vernacular is off. I'm a software engineer, but not a home networking expert.

Also, full disclosure, I posted this same question on reddit. I was directed to this thread in the comments, but I suspect my issue my different since I was experiencing it over wifi.

I have a Linksys EA6350v3. It was consistently restarting under "heavy" (6 devices across both wireless signals, speeds around 40 mbps divided between all devices) loads. I'd connect my computer wirelessly and start updating a game -- no problem. Then I'd connect my PS4 wirelessly and start updating. A minute later I'd experience a restart.

I flashed OpenWRT 19.07 and tried to the same pattern: connect computer and update, then connect ps4 and update. Again, a minute or so after both devices connected, it restarted again.

I watched the logs while this happened and nothing notable seems to happen. I've attached system and kernel logs. The restart occured around 17:04 on the system logs. I connected both PC and PS4 at ~10:00. Also started streaming videos on youtube to poke the system into failing again if that's relevant.

System: https://pastebin.com/JqxNCMFmK
Kernel: https://pastebin.com/itexJ1u4

I tried flashing stock as well, and was experiencing the same issue, though seemingly more often if anything :thinking:

Any help would on diagnosing this would be sick!

If you're seeing the same issue while running the stock OEM firmware as well, this would suggest a defective device - usually one would close the issue here and start the warranty replacement procedure (after flashing back the OEM firmware, of course).

Things you might be able to look at:

• replace kmod-ath10k-ct with kmod-ath10k-ct-smallbuffers, to reduce memory pressure with many concurrent clients a bit.