Trying to understand what specs I need for mesh-router(s), zigbee

Hi,

I'm new to OpenWRT. With the aim of improving the WiFi infrastructure in a small local church, I recently started looking at the pandemonium of WiFi standards, router chipsets, drivers, antennas, etc. I need help in finding out which features and data are important for the router.

The current setup is something like this:
The first building is made of exposed concrete everywhere, some glass doors in the corridor. The office is at the north end on the first floor. At the southern end, a little lower, almost like a cellar, is a kindergarten. There is a conference room above the kindergarten. The church (second building) is about 20-30m further south. We want wifi on the whole site, right up to the church.

The Internet comes via DSL to a DSL router (AVM Fritzbox 7490) in a niche in front of the office (northern end of the building). This is not a good place to place a wireless device, but it has to stay there as this is where cables arrive, and it is secured behind a cabinet door.
The second router hangs on the wall in the meeting room (southern end of the building), the third router at the entrance to the church (another 20-30m further south).
So we are currently using three different wireless routers. Not entirely successful, because no stable connection is possible at the destination. The wlan signal hardly reaches the next router in the chain.

I would like to replace the old routers (Fritzbox 7240, Fritzbox 7270) with more powerful routers with OpenWRT. Above all, better transmission and reception performance would be important. And the price is an issue. I thought it would make sense if 802.11ac and MiMo were supported. A guest network would be nice.
Smarthome components are also planned: WiFi switches with Tasmota, Zigbee motion detectors for lighting, Zigbee temperature sensors and possibly cameras.