TP-TL8630P V2.0 (EU) roll back to stock

Hey guys,
i am new to OpenWrt and i thought, it would be a nice idea to flash OpenWrt onto my TP-Link powerline Access-Point.
So i downloaded the file from the device-page (openwrt) and flashed it through Web-UI. Unfortunately there is no WEB-UI (Luci?) nor can i install it (not enough space) so i would like to revert to stock image.
But I have no clue how to do that. I really can't understand what to do with (read through related threads/FAQ)
I do have the right bin file in here C:\Users\XXXX\Downloads\wpa8630pv2_eu-up-ver2-0-3-P1-20171018-rel36564.bin
und i just want to flash this file.
Could you help me?
Thank you very much!!!!

Does this help? https://openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tp-link_tl-wpa8630p_v2#reverting_to_stock

2 Likes

I will try this with Ubuntu VM in tell you this evening (CET) but in don't know what in die there and what the program does...

Hi @rondriano ,

I added a warning about LuCI and stability for the snapshot images to the wiki.

If you want a working build that includes LuCI you can use this one
for the Model: TL-WPA8630P(EU) Ver: 2.0

Follow the instructions here to apply the sysupgrade file.

Basically:

• Copy the sysupgrade bin file to /tmp. It might be easier to SFTP/WinSCP the bin file to the router /tmp than using wget if the router is not yet connected to the Internet.
  • Run:
sysupgrade /tmp/openwrt-patch-ath79-generic-tplink_tl-wpa8630p-v2.0-eu-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin

If you want to revert to stock let me know and I can send you the downgrade image generated by the "Reverting to Stock" section tmomas linked above.

thanks so far!
i followed the guide (revert to stock) as far as i could... BUT:
rondriano@ubuntu:~/openwrt/openwrt-imagebuilder-ath79-generic.Linux-x86_64$ staging_dir/host/bin/tplink-safeloader -z wpa8630pv2_eu-up-ver2-0-3-P1-20171018-rel36564.bin -d oem-sysupgrade.bin
No factory/oem image given via -x . Output directory is only valid with -x: Success