Support for TP-link Archer C2300

Hello. I just want to know is there will be any openwrt firmware available for TP-Link Archer C2300 in future?

Specs:
CPU: 2 cores Broadcom BCM4906 ARM Cortex-A53 (ARMv8-A 64-bit) 1.8 GHz
FLA: 128 MiB (ESMT F59L1G81MA-25TG2Y)
RAM: 512 MiB DDR3L-1600 (11-11-11) (Samsung K4B4G1646E-BYK0)
USB ports: 1 - USB 3.0, 1 - USB 2.0
WI1 chip1: Broadcom BCM4365E ac/n/a 3x3:3
WI2 chip1: Broadcom BCM4360 b/g/n 3x3:3
WI rate: 1625Mbps at 5GHz, 600Mbps at 2.4GHz
ETH chip1: Broadcom BCM4906
LAN: 4 - 10/100/1000
WAN: 1 - 10/100/1000
This is one of the cheapest routers available on the market (130$...150$) with such good specifications ...
Thanks.

2 Likes

Hi,

I'm not an expert/developer, but, I think Broadcom devices are difficult to port to OpenWRT.
Broadcom drivers are not open (such as Qualcomm) and it makes more hard to port.

Maybe someone can correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks,

PD: I have an Archer C5 v2 (Broadcom chipset) in the same way as you (it's just half supported).

this is a great router. Here's the specifications: https://wikidevi.com/wiki/TP-LINK_Archer_C2300_v1.x

This was requested over at DD-WRT too.
TP-Link Archer C2300 seems to have the same chips (CPU, radio and Eth) as the Netgear R8000P: https://wikidevi.com/wiki/Netgear_R8000P

Does brcmfmac support BCM4365E?

There are couple versions of 4365 supported, but you need to know exact PCI ID to confirm if its supported

FCC ID: TE7C2300 IC 8853A-C2300

I have two questions:

1. How can I determine PCI ID?
  2. Is it possible at current moment to release openwrt firmware for this model without Wi-Fi support?

Simply, install pciutils and use lspci.
Sure, but I doubt it will get merged

Hello everyone,

I just registered to share my findings about this router. I figured out how to decode binary Backup file, how to connect UART serial port, have full root ssh access over network, install vpn client....