Summary attempt: The WiFi chip limitation status of Linksys WRT 1900, 3200 and 32X

H, greetings

I am new to OpenWRT installed on the WRT series of Linksys.
I once bought a WRT 32X a while ago, over the time struggling a lot with WIFI packet losses on the stock firmware (some threads on the internet confirmed these packet loss issues, recommended going to OpenWRT), which brought me to switch to OpenWRT. I actually even bought the device at that time, having in mind that there is a large community backing the future of the device.
OpenWRT mostly fixed the packet drops on first sight, but OpenWRT has shown some heavy WiFi restrictions that seem hardware-related.

It took me some days of research, to hunt down the overall OpenWRT WiFi status of the 32X. I would like to try to summarize it and ask for feedback from you guys, if my summary is correct. The following is subjective summary/impression of me. I had a bit of hard time following up in a lot of discussion threads. Please correct me, if my assumptions or impressions regarding the WRT routers collected here are incorrect.

So there are WiFi restrictions affecting Linksys WRT 1900/3200/32X, but not WRT 1200. The 1200 does not seem affected merely because the 1200 is no longer sold and the WRT device WiFi restrictions seemed to have been introduced somewhat around 2017, around the same time when the 1200 went out of stock.

Subvariants of WRT 1900/3200/32X routers seem to exist:

• From my understanding at least for the 1900 and 3200 there seem to be variants available ("old" and "new" versions), which seem to differ that the newer versions (since ~2017??) have a regulatory-locked-down WIFI firmware chip, which is the main reason for the current WiFi restriction problems.
  • It seems like the 32X exists only as WiFi regulatory-locked-down edition.