Stripped firmware TL-WR940N(BR) v6

I need to rollback to my router's stock firmware but... I can't find any stripped firmware, and I don't know how to strip it in a safe way, I can't find any site or forum (even here) with the stripped firmware, so if someone have it or know how to strip this router's firmware, please help me. (I'm new to all of this router and firmware thing)

the closest i could find was the stripped for the v3:

http://web.archive.org/web/20181031005939/http://www.friedzombie.com/tplink-stripped-firmware/download.php?d=TL-WR940N-V3

but the problem is that the flash brands are different, and this may cause trouble. i will let someone more familiar with this methodology (flashing stripped stock FW) to advise you whether it is a good idea.

1 Like

Yeah, I also found that firmware on the web archive sometime ago, but sadly, it'll brick my device if I try that one... Well, I'll be waiting for some firmware or tutorial, or in the last case, learn about tftp because apparently it's a thing that can restore to the stock.
And thank you for your answer.

there's lots of tutorials, if you haven't tried those.

apparently the tftp can be a little spotty, but one guy on the dd-wrt forums experienced error 18005:

Error code: 18005
Upgrade unsuccessfully because the version of the upgraded file was incorrect. Please check the file name.

he said, to get back to stock, you need to do this:

I used the oldest firmware they had posted, and also the newest. Couldn't get it to accept the files through the GUI.