SQM bufferbloat

Hi,

I’m using a zyxel router in bridge mode and a BT router with openwrt on it with the latest version. However I’m struggling to get good bufferbloat with SqM I’m not sure why as I get full A+ with edge router X and netduma R2, I’ve checked everything I can do but not sure what I’m missing.

Hope you guys can guide me …

Thanks

SQM settings? CPU saturation? Need details to help you.

Cake, Piece of cake, PPPoE, factory reset only has SqM on it, Sorry I’m new to openwrt so go gentle on me :blush::joy:

It's not even clear yet what device you're using for sqm (apart from ZyXEL veing a vendor with thousands of different devices, not a specific model), nor what WAN speed we're talking about.

Well, have you read the SQM documentation, here and here already?
If you have not, that would be a good starting point :wink:

That said, could you post the following information:

1. ISP name, and pln speed (upload and download)

2. output of the following commands run on a ssh shell on your OpenWrt router:

a) get the name of the wan device/interface: ifstatus wan | grep device
b) get the current configuration of cat /etc/config/sqm
c) disable sqm: /etc/init.d/sqm stop
d) run a dslreports speedtest with SQM disabled and post the results here
e) enable SQM (copy and paste the output here in formatted as </> preformatted text): SQM_DEBUG=1 SQM_VERBOSITY_MAX=8 /etc/init.d/sqm start
f) get the initial cake statistics: tc -s qdisc
g) run another dslreports speedtest and post a link to the detailed results here.
h) get the post-speedtest cake statstics: tc -s qdisc

That should get us in a decent position to continue the discussion/optimization of your SQM configuration.

2 Likes

All sorted now, Thanks for your help sorry I wasn't helping to much on giving you more information but I'm new to openwrt :slight_smile:

How can I get open nat on the xbox s?