[Solved] Upgrade from older Bleeding Edge f/w to Current

Okay, I've been a bad admin. When I upgraded from my venerable WRT54G a few years ago, and bought a new Linksys EA3500, I promised myself I'd keep on top of the upgrades, which I'd never been good at before.

You can guess that didn't happen. So although in some ways I'm a greybeard, I need some newbie-ish advice.

My EA3500 is running: OpenWrt Designated Driver 50072 / LuCI Master (git-17.339.51318-de4c4b8)

root@briar:/etc# cat openwrt_release 
    DISTRIB_ID='OpenWrt'
    DISTRIB_RELEASE='Bleeding Edge'
    DISTRIB_REVISION='50072'
    DISTRIB_CODENAME='designated_driver'
    DISTRIB_TARGET='kirkwood/generic'
    DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION='OpenWrt Designated Driver 50072'
    DISTRIB_TAINTS=''
    root@briar:/etc# cat openwrt_version 

This is 2 or 3 years old, and because it's a development release (that's what "Bleeding Edge" is, right?) I'm not sure what my options are.

Can I simply download and flash the 19.07.5 upgrade .bin file, and expect, or hope, that my config remains intact? (I'll have backups, of course.) Are there other steps I should take? Do I need to upgrade to 18.x, or some other intermediate firmware, first?

Also, I know that the EA3500 is a dual firmware device, but I'm unsure whether my current install knows about that, and if it will install to the alternate partition or not.

Many thanks in advance,
paul

Do that without keeping the settings.
Instead take a backup of the settings and use them as a guide when you reconfigure the device manually.

2 Likes

Ah, okay. That sounds like a good safety measure. Makes sense.

Can you tell me where my install falls, in terms of the major release cycle, so that if I find a problem with applying my old config, I can track down what sorts of things changed, from the release notes and commit logs?

Likely from late 2017, and from the abandoned original OpenWrt repo, mainly unupdated since 2016...