Setup Proxy Server setting within router

Hello community,
I am new to Networking and recently purchase an Openwrt router to use. I Have a internet connection which I access using Proxy setting IP 192.168.4.10 and Port 3128 with username and Password. I Connected a wifi router (MI WIFI 3C) as access point to convert wired network to wireless network, but problem is that I have to setup/feed Proxy in each and every device which I connect to Wifi or Lan. I just need a simple solution for my problem to feed proxy server within router (OPENWRT) so that I can connect any devices to wifi without need of setting proxy in each and every devices.

Thanks You

Google for WPAD standard and DHCP's option 252, perhaps that will fulfill your needs.

since you're requiring username and password, it seems that there is no way around this, as each device needs a username and password associated. if you are not actually using the username and password for anything then if you get rid of it you can use the WPAD standard, in which case you only need to click some sort of auto proxy discovery button as you set up the wifi. On the other hand, the WPAD standard is generally bad security practice, as it runs javascript on your devices. I suggest to simply enter the proxy information manually, eventually after a few devices have it, you are done.

If this is a public hotspot type install and you may have thousands of people accessing who are not knowledgeable enough to enter proxy information, you might want to reconsider using the proxy.

I don't recommend trying to do transparent proxy, it is very tricky to get this to work right with SSL.

• You can deploy proxy settings via configuration management software such as Ansible or use GPO if you have a domain.
  • Squid proxy chaining should be possible but transparent proxy with chaining doesn't look like a simple solution.
  • WPAD has security issues and it's not reliable in the aspect of compatibility.

@reinerotto