Set up local domain in OpenWrt

I have a TP-Link TL-MR 3420 v2 router set up as a Wi-Fi repeater running OpenWRT. The router has been set up in a "briged mode". The router is connected to my phone's hotspot through OpenWRT's "join network" feature. DHCP is disabled on the router and is set up to forward DHCP requests to the phone.

I want to make the router's administration page (192.168.1.1) accessible through a local domain name (openwrt.wrt) via Wi-Fi without messing with hosts file and such. I've tried various different methods to try to set up the domain and all doesn't work.

Note that when I'm doing the settings, I'm connected to the router's Wi-Fi repeater hotspot on another phone and set up the phone to manually set a static ip address (192.168.1.128) and connect to the router's gateway address (192.168.1.1)

I would like to know a number of different ways to set up the local domain on the OpenWRT router and a brief step by step as I'm new to setting this up on a router.

Here are some additional information that might help

Edit: I have tried dnsmasq's dns forwarding feature with '/openwrt.wrt/192.168.1.1/' and it doesn't work. Also, if i change the dns from 8.8.8.8 to any other address while connected to the router, the phone cant even resolve 192.168.1.1. it seems to me that somehow i need to set up something on the router to be the '8.8.8.8' address guy but i dont know how. Maybe someone can show me how?

Why? What exactly is the layout of your network? Are you intending all clients to sit behind the router?

1 Like

If you want the router to be openwrt.wrt then your local domain probably should be wrt.

You don't need to change the host name of the router since it is openwrt by default. It can be changed in the system config.

1 Like

The reason i disabled dhcp is because it is one of the step required to complete the step in setting up a wifi repeater in the official openwrt documentation page.