Running the make command

I'm a noob to OpenWRT but trying my best to flash firmware for my TP Link WR841N. I've followed the Image Building guide but when I type make -j 3 V=s I get errors saying I don't have permission. Now I understand I'm not supposed to be a root user when I run the make command, but how can I have permission to run the make command if I don't have root access...or perhaps this is completely unrelated to permissions, log below:

osboxes@osboxes:~/ImageBuilding/openwrt-imagebuilder-ramips-mt76x8.Linux-x86_64/openwrt$ make -j 3 V=s

rm: cannot remove '/home/osboxes/ImageBuilding/openwrt-imagebuilder-ramips-mt76x8.Linux-x86_64/openwrt/tmp/info/.overrides-packageinfo-29690': Permission denied

make[3]: *** No rule to make target '/home/osboxes/ImageBuilding/openwrt-imagebuilder-ramips-mt76x8.Linux-x86_64/openwrt/tmp/info/.files-packageinfo-1947'.  Stop.

cat: /home/osboxes/ImageBuilding/openwrt-imagebuilder-ramips-mt76x8.Linux-x86_64/openwrt/tmp/info/.files-packageinfo-1947: No such file or directory

cat: /home/osboxes/ImageBuilding/openwrt-imagebuilder-ramips-mt76x8.Linux-x86_64/openwrt/tmp/info/.overrides-packageinfo-1947: No such file or directory

rm: cannot remove '/home/osboxes/ImageBuilding/openwrt-imagebuilder-ramips-mt76x8.Linux-x86_64/openwrt/tmp/info/.files-packageinfo.stamp.3bac970c7ea00696c669eb6e049d1216': Permission denied

touch: cannot touch '/home/osboxes/ImageBuilding/openwrt-imagebuilder-ramips-mt76x8.Linux-x86_64/openwrt/tmp/info/.files-packageinfo.stamp.d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998ecf8427e': Permission denied

touch: cannot touch '/home/osboxes/ImageBuilding/openwrt-imagebuilder-ramips-mt76x8.Linux-x86_64/openwrt/tmp/info/.files-packageinfo.stamp': Permission denied

make[2]: *** [include/scan.mk:101: /home/osboxes/ImageBuilding/openwrt-imagebuilder-ramips-mt76x8.Linux-x86_64/openwrt/tmp/info/.files-packageinfo.stamp] Error 1