Router recommendation for 3-bedroom townhouse. Is Netgear R7800 a good pick?

I live in a 2-story townhouse where the wifi router has to be in the upper corner, square footage wise, as that is where my office is. I've been using a Netgear AC1600 for about 3 years now, and in my previous 2-bedroom apartment, the coverage was great. In this new house, however, I've noticed that this is really pushing the limits of my router's range. And me, not knowing much at the time, thought switching to OpenWRT could be a way to 1. Run up-to-date firmware on an outdated router, and 2. Extend the wifi's range a little. 2 weeks in, and clearly I did not realize that OpenWRT often shrinks a router's range, but I still really like the benefit of having an updated firmware and more granular control over my router. That being said, I could really use a new one that has some more powerful antennas, and works great with OpenWRT. I have heard good things about the Netgear R7800, and it does seem like that would fit my needs better. The only thing I'm unsure of is coverage distance. Here's some specs for my use case to help with any recommendations you might have. If you leave a recommendation, thank you very much for helping me out, even if I don't pick it :slight_smile: . I'm pretty new to the world of OpenWRT, and I like what you guys are going for, and hopefully I can keep using it for the foreseeable future.

Router specs request:

• ISP speed: 500Mbps/20Mbps down/up, although I have gotten 545/22 from wired speedtests, but I consider 500/20 to be the safe zone. Connection is not PPPoE.
  • Price: 100-150 USD. 150 is a hard limit right now, but if there is an option just outside this, feel free to let me know so I can keep an eye on it or maybe find a used version for cheaper.

Must-haves:

• Ethernet: Yes, just 1-2 laptops being plugged in directly to the router.
  • Wi-Fi: Yes, 2.4G and 5G.
  • Guest network: Yes, just 2.4G.